Workshops > 5th Workshop on Artificial Intelligence Applications in Biomedicine (AIAB 2015)

5th Workshop on Artificial Intelligence Applications in Biomedicine (AIAB 2015)

Important dates - Extended

Paper submission deadline: May 4th, 2015 May 24th, 2015
Author notificationsMay 24th, 2015 June 15th, 2015
Camera-ready submission deadlineMay 31st, 2015 June 22nd, 2015
Early registration deadlineJune 7th, 2015 June 22nd, 2015

Workshop Theme

Recent technological advances in computer science and biomedicine facilitated the development of complex biomedical systems including sophisticated medical imaging, signal processing systems and computer based decision support tools, assisting diagnosis for better delivery of health care services. Meanwhile, applications of Machine Learning, Neural Computing, Expert Systems, Fuzzy Logic and Evolutionary Computing in biomedicine are continuously emerging. Therefore AI tools and techniques are a vital part of modern computer based systems that handle medical data. The aim of this workshop is to serve as a forum for the presentation of new and ongoing work and the exchange of ideas between researchers interested in the application of AI in any aspect of biomedicine and electronic healthcare.

Accepted Papers

Theodoros Iliou, Christos-Nikolaos Anagnostopoulos, Marina Nerantzaki and George Anastassopoulos: A Novel Machine Learning Data Preprocessing Method for Enhancing Classification Algorithms Performance

Androniki Tamvakis, Christos-Nikolaos Anagnostopoulos, George Tsekouras and George Anastassopoulos:  Optimizing voting classification using cluster analysis on medical diagnosis data

Noah Eyal, Mark Last and Eitan Rubin: Comparison of three classifiers for breast cancer outcome prediction

Ilias Maglogiannis, Theodosios Goudas, Antonis Biliris, Haralampos Karanikas, Ioannis Valavanis, Olga Papdodima and Aristotelis Chatziioannou: Redesigning EHRs and Clinical Decision Support Systems for the Precision Medicine Era

Dimitrios Galiatsatos, Georgia Konstantopoulou, George Anastassopoulos, Marina Nerantzaki, Konstantinos Assimakopoulos and Dimitrios Lymberopoulos: Classification of the most Significant Psychological Symptoms in Mental Patients with Depression using Bayesian Networks

Harris Papadopoulos, Efthyvoulos Kyriacou, Andrew Nicolaides, Constantinos Pattichis: Reliable Probabilistic Prediction of High-Risk Asymptomatic Carotid Plaques


The subject areas of the workshop include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Clinical decision support systems
  • Intelligent medical image analysis
  • Intelligent medical signal processing
  • Medical knowledge engineering
  • Knowledge-based and agent-based systems
  • Medical text analysis
  • Computational intelligence in bio- and clinical medicine
  • Biomedical data mining
  • Intelligent medical information systems
  • Clinical expert systems
  • Modelling and simulation of medical processes
  • Drug discovery
  • Intelligent analysis and fusion of genomic and proteomic data
  • Personalised medicine
  • Intelligent devices and instruments
  • Automated reasoning and metareasoning in medicine
  • AI in medical education


Authors are invited to submit original, English-language research contributions or experience reports. Papers should be no longer than 10 pages formatted according to the ACM SIG proceedings style. The ACM SIG proceedings templates and instructions for authors can be found here.

All aspects of the submission and notification process will be handled online via the EasyChair Conference System at:


Submitted papers will be refereed for quality, correctness, originality, and relevance. Accepted papers will be presented at the Workshop and published in a separate Proceedings volume by ACM. They will also be considered for potential publication in the Special Issues of the Conference.

Workshop Chairs

Harris Papadopoulos
Frederick University, Cyprus

Efthyvoulos Kyriacou
Frederick University, Cyprus

Ilias Maglogiannis
University of Piraeus, Greece

George Anastassopoulos
Democritus University of Thrace

Program committee 

  • Adam Adamopoulos, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
  • Ioannis Anagnostopoulos, University of Central Greece, Greece
  • Vineeth Balasubramanian, Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad, India
  • Panagiotis Bamidis, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Nikolaos Bourbakis, Wright State University, USA
  • Aristotle Chatziioannou, National Hellenic Research Foundation, Greece
  • Charalampos Doukas, University of Aegean, Greece
  • Alex Gammerman, Royal Holloway University of London, UK
  • Ioannis K. Hatzilygeroudis, University of Patras, Greece
  • Vangelis Karkaletsis, NCSR Demokritos, Greece
  • Dimitrios Kosmopoulos, NCSR Demokritos, Greece
  • Christos Loizou, Intercollege, Cyprus
  • Dimitris Lymberopoulos, University of Patras, Greece
  • Vangelis Metsis, Texas State University, USA
  • Konstantina Nikita, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • Ilia Nouretdinov, Royal Holloway University of London, UK
  • Constantinos Pattichis, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
  • Vassilis Plagianakos, University of Central Greece, Greece
  • Christos N. Schizas, University of Cyprus, Cyprus
  • Ioannis Seimenis, Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
  • Vladimir Vovk, Royal Holloway University of London, UK